Gsoc 2016: Sum up

This blog post summarizes my summer working for Neverland Theme Builder project.

I think GSoC is a good experience which many students are looking for. I knew about GSoC 2016 late and I thought I wasnt accepted. But finally I made it here.

For me, NodeJs wasn’t new. I had used Node for some pet projects but Neverland was a different story. It was the first time I built a big app with Node and adopted many new technologies.

Actually Gsoc didnt take me a lot of time but sometimes I still feel burnt out for some reasons. I read a blog post of another Kde – Gsoc student and she also mentioned about the stressful and depression. I think it is shadow part of the IT industry. And we student havent learnt how to deal with it (stress) yet when it comes to real (paid) projects.

My mentor said: “IT is not the best for fighting depressions. All those countless hours in front of the screen, alone”. I think what he said is true and that why we need a better working condition caring about our mental health. Btw, he is really a good mentor and definitely a teacher. You can seek out for his help not only about IT. Highly recommend him for other Gsoc Students of Kde. You can ping him (neverendingo) on kde-www  :*

I hope I can pass this final 😀

Thanks for reading

3 thoughts on “Gsoc 2016: Sum up

  1. Hi,

    I followed your with attention your contribs on Neverland. Would you be interested in working on the kde.org website (nothing urgent, but I thought you might like it)? Can you mail me/ping me if so?

    Cheers,

  2. Michael says:

    Thank you for being honest about the mental health aspects of your work. It’s so important for all of us to be honest about it. There are therapists who dedicate their life to helping people out of the mental loops, though they don’t tend to hang around the open source world.

    Keep sharing!

Leave a Reply

